stefanie goliszewski.


Anti-Flag, The Flatliners and the Have Nots at Reggie’s.
March 24, 2012, 2:00 pm
Filed under: Photos, Shows | Tags: , , , , ,

On March 13th, I went to see a show at Reggie’s in Chicago. The Have Nots, the Flatliners and Anti-Flag were playing, and, though I was only particularly there for the Flatliners, I had a great time. Before the show, me and my boyfriend, Cody, got dinner in the Music Joint side of the venue — two delicious veggie burgers and an appetizer for only four additional bucks using a Groupon ($15 for $30 worth of food). I didn’t grab a picture of the food, but this is an artsy shot of Cody and the background of the restaurant.

20120324-132836.jpg

We then bought tickets at the door and saw the Have Nots (pictured below) first. I had never previously heard of them, but they definitely knew how to get the crowd riled up. They had the typical loud punk sound that I adore, though none of their songs really stood out to me. They were great, none the less. Also, despite the fact that I really enjoyed the bands that were playing this show, I felt a bit out of place. I started going to shows and listening to that type of music around age 12, and I would say that many of the show’s attendees were exactly that: young. Though I only stand a modest 5’2 (which explains the quality of these pictures), I felt fairly old amongst the hair dye and braces that adorned members of the crowd. This wasn’t a bad thing; it just felt strange to note the differences between me and the others there.

20120316-144014.jpg

Then came the Flatliners. I’ve recently gotten into the Flatliners and particularly enjoy their album, “Cavalcade.” It seemed like the majority of the crowd was there for them, or at least that was when the crowd looked the biggest. The show was amazing, and they closed their set with “Count Your Bruises,” a song about which I recently posted. After their set, I happened to notice this sticker in the bathroom — The Robbery is my friends’ band.

20120316-144029.jpg

Then Anti-Flag (pictured below) took the stage. The only other time I had seen them play live was at JBTV a few months back. There, they played well, but the crowd didn’t seem too into the set. I was eager to see them play to more enthusiastic fans, which this show definitely had. Cody was definitely a bigger fan than I was, and I didn’t recognize too many of the songs that they did. Some that I recall were “You’ve Got To Die For the Government,” “Drink, Drank, Punk,” “Spaz’s House Destruction Party,” “Turncoat” and “Death of A Nation.” The set ended with drummer Pat Thetic setting up his drums in the middle of the crowd and rattling off an insane encore.  I wish I would have gotten a picture of that.

20120316-143952.jpg

Overall, it was a great show. I really enjoy going to Reggie’s — they always have a ton of great punk/rockabilly bands that one normally wouldn’t get to see at such an intimate venue. I hope to be back soon.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

