stefanie goliszewski.


#MusicMonday… two days late.
August 11, 2011, 12:32 am
Filed under: Photos, Punk, Shows, Uncategorized, videos

I’m still getting used to doing Music Mondays, so please forgive me for posting this two days late. My “Music Wednesday”, as it is, is The Copyrights.

I saw this band last Friday at the Underground Lounge, a sweet, subterranean dive bar in the heart of Wrigleyville. I definitely didn’t expect the atmosphere to be as it was–dark and grimy, Christmas lights strung up on the ceiling, band posters on the walls (I recall seeing one of The Specials), and a “stage” level with the rest of the floor. I fully intend to return to this place sometime soon–how could I not? I don’t know if they regularly do shows, as the doorman seemed ill-prepared to dole out change and the bartenders seemed way over their heads and then some, but I’m sure it’s a great little hole-in-the-wall to grab a drink. Anyway, back to the band.

The Copyrights headlined two shows at the Underground Lounge, though I only caught their Friday performance. One of the openers that night was Brendan Kelly, one of the singers of the Lawrence Arms. He put on an absolutely hilarious show, playing acoustic numbers from both the Falcon and the Lawrence Arms (as well as original material), and getting increasingly drunk as the evening wore on. I swear, each of his gigs is a combined musical performance and stand-up comedy routine.

Then came the Copyrights. I haven’t seen them live before and didn’t really know what to expect, but man, they put on a hell of a performance. They’re signed to Red Scare Industries though, so I knew that I would be seeing a band that I liked, regardless of how little I previously knew of them. I’ll let my video do the talking. This is The Copyrights, playing “Kids of the Black Hole”. You can look up the history of that particular song (as it pertains to the Adolescents, etc) on its Wikipedia page — it’s pretty interesting. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

