stefanie goliszewski.


Spotify
July 26, 2011, 12:58 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It seems that in only the last few weeks, we in the virtual world have been hit with a slew of social networking sites. Some I find useful, and some I find pointless. I jumped on the Google+ bandwagon with relative ease, though I don’t see a real need for it. Though I do share different information on Twitter versus Facebook, I’m not quite sure where Google+ fits into all that. Is it more like Facebook or more like Twitter? Well, the short answer is that there aren’t enough people on Google+ yet for it to be a useful social media tool for me. In an attempt at irony, I’ve only been posting information regarding Google+ on Google+, though I fear the lack of users on it probably diminishes any sort of humor I’m trying to convey. Oh well.

However, I’ve also managed to work my way onto Spotify. There has been so much hype about this site; I had to try it. After begging/subscribing/fretting for about a week, I was able to secure an invite. What I didn’t count on is that this is more of a computer program than a website, AKA I don’t have to use Safari to access the tunes on it.

The idea of having unlimited access to a seemingly endless amount of music is overwhelming to me, but it also makes me wonder: aren’t we as avid technology users already privy to this sort of service? I mean, I can download just about anything via Mediafire. If I can’t find it on there, I can tweet with a few clever #hashtags and try to find someone out there who will send me the music that I’m looking for. I think that a lot of people ignore this fact and simply regard programs like Spotify as cutting-edge and mind-blowingly innovative. I’m not saying that Spotify is not cool, though. I mean, the idea of having some sort of social integration (users’ music profiles, containing top artists, top tracks and public playlists) is a very interesting concept, especially when it comes to discovering your friends’ musical tastes. Furthermore, I don’t know how I feel about the iTunes integration that comes with it–is it trying to replace iTunes? Should I use it over iTunes? Is it going to synch with my iPhone?

After my severely-limited exposure to Spotify, my conclusion is this: it’s a good service for those out there who want to experience new music and those who respect the tastes of their friends. However, I don’t think it’s really useful to everyone out there and do not believe that it has necessarily found its place within American social media. After all, one can get any music she wants with enough determination; it’s just a matter of the program attaining social relevance and reaching an influential niche audience.

That is my initial impression of Spotify. I’m going to play around with it for another week or two and see if I think differently afterward. Don’t get me wrong, I really am banking on the idea that a social community of this level based around music can evolve. (After all, I love the idea of turntable.fm.) I simply believe that there has been too much hype surrounding this program for one to realistically think about its ability.

Let’s see if Spotify will grow on me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

