stefanie goliszewski.


Stuff I’ve Been Doin’
July 19, 2011, 7:46 am
Filed under: Punk, Shows, Uncategorized, videos

In the approximate month since graduation, I’ve been taking time to relax and unwind. And by relax and unwind, I mean attend countless shows, discover new bands and enjoy all that this great city has to offer. While I absolutely love any season in Chicago, summer always brings with it a plethora of talent that I seem to love more than at any other time. Here are two videos I took in such instances.

The first is of AM Taxi playing their new song, “New Solution”, at Sausage Fest 2011. The show took place on June 4th, but I’ve been slacking on uploading. If you know me, you know that I absolutely adore this band’s music. I was beyond happy when I heard that they [finally] came out with some new music, but I NEED MORE! This was Sausage Fest’s first year in existence, and damn was it good. The lineup for this particular evening included the Smoking Popes as well, and you can be sure they killed it. The whole mini-fest took place on Addison and Sheffield, right in the shadow of Wrigley Field. AM Taxi has two shows coming up in the near future: one this Sunday (7/24) at Wicker Park Fest and the other on 8/12 at Metro. You can bet your life I’ll be at both of ’em.

The second video is of Brendan Kelly (of the Lawrence Arms and the Falcon) covering The Falcon’s “La-Z-Boy 500” at Panchos. The show took place on June 25th. Kelly had won two awards from the Chicago Reader in the days before, one for “Best Singer/Songwriter” and one for “Best Blogger”, so he donned two plastic medals that symbolized his accomplishment. He’s normally a really funny guy (I mean, check out his Twitter), but being so drunk, he totally made this show into a stand-up comedy act. The crowd here was surprisingly small, but man, everyone knew the words to every song–ain’t that all you can ask for?

I’ll try to write in this more often since I actually do have a lot to say about music lately. In the meantime, you can find me at the following shows (Obviously, I highly recommend each and every one of them):

July 19th: Old 97’s at Lincoln Hall
July 21st: Off With Their Heads! at Subterranean
July 24th: AM Taxi at Wicker Park Fest
August 1st & 2nd: Alkaline Trio & the Smoking Popes at Metro
August 5th: the Copyrights & Brendan Kelly at the Underground
August 12th: AM Taxi at Metro
August 14th: the Robbery at Metro

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

