stefanie goliszewski.


My college graduation vs. Asian Man Records.
February 8, 2011, 6:37 am
Filed under: Punk, Shows, Ska | Tags: , ,

I’ve reached the point that no college student should ever have to reach: the point at which she must choose between her college graduation and the Asian Man Records 15th Anniversary show in San Francisco.

Graduation = June 17th and 18th.
Show = June 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th.

You would think it’s no brainer, right? I mean, why would I ever go to my graduation when I can see this FANTASTIC lineup (with more great acts expected to be confirmed)? This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to see the greatest punk and ska acts that have helped Asian Man Records to become what it has! I don’t think I’ll ever see this lineup again.

(As of 02.08.11):
MU330
SLOW GHERKIN
THE QUEERS
THE APERS
SHINOBU
THE HOT TODDIES
THE WILD
MONKEY
SHORT ROUND
KEVIN SECONDS
BUCK-O-NINE
UNSTEADY
GRANT OLNEY
READY THE JET
MIKE HALE
CLASSICS OF LOVE
THE SAINTE CATHERINES
O PIONEERS!!!
PTERADON
HARD GIRLS
DAN POTTHAST
BOMB THE MUSIC INDUSTRY!
LAURA STEVENSON
MIKEY ERG
BAGHEERA
BRENDAN KELLY
TOYS THAT KILL
FOR.THE.WIN.
THE CHINKEES
ANDREW JACKSON JIHAD
THE LAWRENCE ARMS
SUNDOWNER
SLAPSTICK
KEPI GHOULIE
SPRAYNARD

However, then there’s the guilt. The guilt of not walking in graduation, the guilt that manifests itself whenever I think about my parents. It really sucks. No, I can’t miss graduation. My parents would probably kill me if they hadn’t invested so much money in my life already. I’m really disappointed that I have to miss this amazing show, but it’s for one of the few justifiable reasons that could arise. This had better be a great graduation.

So to those who are underclassmen or are just simply not seniors graduating from Northwestern University in June: ATTEND THIS SHOW. This is a great opportunity to see some of the best acts that have helped make this DIY label great. It was started by Mike Park in 1996 and maintains the idea of being “anti-racist, anti-sexist, and anti-prejudiced”. They embrace this mission today by encouraging fans to mail order CDs or purchase them from independent stores. Please continue to support this label as much as you can; they’ve nurtured great bands in the past, and there’s no reason to believe they can’t continue to do so.

For more information on the 15th Anniversary Show lineup, check out their Tumblr. Or, check out their: Facebook, Twitter, and Website.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

